Home



The spring issue of the Pine Times, written by Justin Portelli, is now available to view online:



Adult


Understanding Anger

Thursday, March 26th at 7pm 

Learn techniques to manage anger effectively, identify triggers, develop self-control, and utilize health and practical coping skills. Brought to you by the Jewish Family Service of North Jersey.  No registration is required. 


Prepare for the U.S. Citizenship Interview
Beginning Wednesday, January 14th at 10 am



We are pleased to offer free classes for people preparing for the U.S. Citizenship Interview.
 These classes will be offered from 10 am -11:30 am and registration is required.

Participants should be living in the United States for at least 3 years.

Please call 201-796-3400/extension 5 for more information or to register.


AARP Tax Preparation

Now until April 9th.

AARP volunteers will be offering free tax assistance for Seniors on Wednesdays and Thursdays from February 5th to
April 9th. This service to open to all. Appointments are from 10:15 am to 3:15 pm. For more information and to make your appointment, please call 201-796-3400 X-5.


Museum Passes
Montclair Art Museum

Fair Lawn library members may now borrow passes to the Montclair Art Museum!

 Two adults and all children under 18 may visit the museum free of charge.
 Passes will be loaned for 7 days and may be reserved 24 hours in advance.

Stop by the Reference Desk or call 201-796-3400/extension 5 for more information.

Thanks to the Friends of the Maurice M. Pine Public Library for this wonderful opportunity!


Basic English Conversation Group
 
 
 The library is offering Basic English Conversation groups on Tuesdays at 10 and 10:30 am and Thursdays at 10 am.
 These groups are for those who would like to meet and practice their English speaking skills with others.
 People of all skill levels and languages are welcome to socialize and learn. No registration is necessary.

 Call Leslie at 201-796-3400/extension 5 or email leslie.kruegel@fairlawn.bccls.org for more information.



Neighbors Helping 

Neighbors
 
 
www.nhnusa.org
Thursdays
7:00 pm
 
Neighbors-helping-Neighbors USA, Inc. is reopening at Fair Lawn Library    

Looking for work? Seeking to reinvigorate your job search? 

Neighbors will meet every Monday evening at 7:00 pm. All are welcome!

 
  

 Call 201-796-3400/extension 5 for more information.



Readers Roundtable
Book Discussion Group

Thursday, March 5th
2:00 pm


A  rich and masterful novel about love and the question of race in post-Civil War America; Spanning the post-Civil War era to the edge of the Great Depression, In The Fall by Jeffrey Lent is an extraordinary epic of three generations of an American family, the dark secrets that blister at its core, and the transcendent bonds between men and women that fuel their lives over the course of six decades. The program is free and open to all. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation desk.
For more information, please call 201-796-3400


Director Reads:
 
Non-Fiction Book Discussion Group


Empty Mansions
By Bill Dedman and Paul Clark Newell

Thursday, March 12th
2:00 pm

In the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, this book tells an extraordinary Dickensian story of wealth and eccentricity. It is a rich mystery of wealth and loss, connecting the Gilded Age opulence of nineteenth-century America with a twenty-first-century battle over a $300 million inheritance.
Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk. Open to all. For more information, please call 201-796-3499.



 Film:  The Theory of Everything

Sunday, March 22
1:30 pm promptly!


  1. In the 1960s, Cambridge University student and future physicist Stephen Hawking (Eddie Redmayne) falls in love with fellow collegian Jane Wilde (Felicity Jones). At 21, Hawking learns that he has motor neuron disease. Despite this -- and with Jane at his side -- he begins an ambitious study of time, of which he has very little left, according to his doctor. He and Jane defy terrible odds and break new ground in the fields of medicine and science, achieving more than either could hope to imagine. The program is free and open to all. For more information please call 201-796-3400.

Blind Date with a Book

Fall in love with a book this February! We will be running our popular "blind date with a book" program all month in honor of Valentine's Day. Take a book in a brown wrapper and maybe you will discover a new author or genre. Fill out a book review,  rate your "date", and enter to win a prize at the end of the month.

You may love the book you read, but if you don't, you never have to repeat the experience!



 
Writers' Circle
 
The Writers' Circle is a group for current and aspiring writers. Bring your fiction, non-fiction or ideas to share with the group.  It will meet on Wednesdays at 7:00 pm on the following dates:

March 11
March 25
April 8
April 22
May 6
May 20
June 3
June 17

Writers with all levels of experience are welcome to attend. No registration is necessary.  Please contact Justin Portelli with any questions at justin.portelli@bccls.org, or call 201-796-3400, Ext. 0
 
 
Technology Help
 
Need help with your laptop, E-reader, basic internet, e-mail? There will be high school volunteers to help you with all of your technology related questions on Level  D every Wednesday from 3:30 to 5:30pm and Sundays from 2-4pm, beginning on October 19th. Please call 201-796-3400/extension 5 for an appointment.
 

                       Recipe Club

 
                
                              will continue on the 
                       last Thursday of every month
                
                        1/29, 2/26, 3/26, 4/30, 5/28, 6/25, 
                     7/30, 8/27, 9/24, 10/29, 11/19, 12/17                

10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

in the REFERENCE ROOM located on level D. 

FREE to the public and no registration required.

The Maurice M. Pine Free Public Library started a Recipe Club to discuss and exchange ideas on cooking, nutrition and favorite recipes.  

Participants are welcome to bring samples of food items to taste and share, and will talk about money-saving ideas and “couponing”.  At future meetings the group will have speakers on a variety of topics.

Please join us to share your thoughts and ideas for this new club.For more information please call Emiliana Tuohey or Leslie Kruegel at 201-796-3400/extension 16 or 5. 

  
 
NOOKS NOOKS NOOKS
 
Thinking about buying an e-reader? Looking to keep up with new technology? Or are you just trying to jump the line and bring home a bestseller? Then take home one of our Nooks!
 
We have purchased ten Nooks from Barnes & Noble to lend to Fair Lawn patrons. They come pre-loaded with their own unique bookshelf. Each Nook comes with a mix of bestsellers and classics. Six Nooks are for Adult materials, both fiction and non-fiction. Two contain Young Adult materials. Another two Nooks are filled with books for kids. And the selections will only grow, as we add more and more new titles to the Nooks over time. Some current titles include The Cuckoo's Calling, Inferno, And the Mountains Echoed, Gone Girl, Doctor Sleep, The Hunger Games Trilogy and more!
 
We have added even more titles for 2014. Take a look at our selection with the link below. 
 
All you have to do to take a Nook home is bring in your valid Fair Lawn library card with no fines or overdues. If the Nook you are looking for is not available, you can place a hold on it like any other item. 
 
Is the bestseller you were waiting for a disappointment? No problem. Just scroll through to the next one. The Nook allows you to hold an entire shelf in your hand. Ask for details in Circulation, Reference, or the Children's Room.
 
Click here for a complete list of available titles: Nook Titles
 
Please call 201-796-3400, Ext. 0 for more information or to place a hold.
 
 
 
Scrabble Night
 
Scrabble enthusiasts are invited to play with other players EVERY Wednesday from 6:30-9 pm. 
 
Game boards are available for play at other times-
just ask at the Reference Desk.
 
Chess Anyone?
 
Challenge your mind Thursday nights, 7pm until 8:45 pm, playing chess in our Reference Room.  No registration necessary, please call 201-796-3400 for more information.   
 
 
 
 
OPEN STUDIO
 
Every third Thursday of every month 

7:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
PINE GALLERY on Level C.
 
The Pine Gallery will open its art space to the public for an opportunity to sit and draw from a still life, dressed model or pet.  A different still life each month.  No experience necessary.  Surround yourself with beautiful artwork and have fun creating your own masterpiece. Registration not required. FREE to the public. Everyone welcome!  Participants should bring their own drawing supplies. 
 
ESL TUTORS NEEDED
 
Due to a large number of foreign born students requesting help with English language skills, the Library is seeking residents who would like to help a neighbor improve English speaking and reading abilities.

If you would like to volunteer for an hour once a week, please call Leslie at (201)796-3400/extension 5.

There are no special requirements for this program.





KNITTING AND CROCHET CLUB
 
Mondays, 7:00-8:45 pm 
Tuesdays, 1:00-3:00 pm
 
Come and share your love of knitting and crocheting and socialize with other hand crafters. All levels of experience are welcome - work on a current project or start a new one, and please bring your own supplies.
 
 
The Monday group meets in the Art Gallery on Level C and the Tuesday group meets in the Reference Room on Level D. No registration is necessary - just drop in!
Call Leslie at (201)796-3400 if you need more information.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
  
 
updated 03/04/2015

Children & Teens

 
Children
  
Check out our KIDS PAGE for all the information on the exciting schedule of events we have planned for you! 


Teens
  
TAB (Teen Advisory Board)

 

Are you bursting with ideas about how to make your community and especially your library a more fun and happening place?  Want to make new friends and have fun?  Earn volunteer hours?  Join the TAB!


Next meeting will be on Thursday, March 12th at 7pm


Book Discussion Groups


When you register for these book discussion groups we will give you the first book to read, We meet on a monthly basis to talk about the book and have fun! See the Children's Department Information Desk for registration.


Talk It Up!: Grades 7 & 8

Next meeting: April 13th 7:00 - 7:45 pm


Teen Book Club: Grades 9-12

Next meeting: April 13th 8:00 - 8:45 pm



Summer Reading 

suggestions for teens in grades 6-12

 from the Fair Lawn Public Library:











Video Games!

 
The Fair Lawn Library has started a video game collection. 
 
Do you no longer play some of your games at home?  Please consider donating them to the library so other people can enjoy playing them.  
 
 
The policies of the collection are as follows:
 
  • All games can be borrowed for 14 days and cannot be renewed.
  • Limit of 5 games per library card.
  • As of now, some of the games are unable to be linked to the card catalog and, therefore, cannot be reserved or searched for on the catalog. 
This is mainly a browsing collection.  Here is a list of all games currently owned by the library: